The Lead Lap Is Moving

June 11, 2009

The official redesign of The Lead Lap and its migration to its new URLĀ  is complete, three weeks ahead of schedule.

From this point forward, Lead Lap can be found at its new site. This site will no longer be updated on a daily basis.

For the latest NASCAR news and updates, be sure to check The Lead Lap at its new address here. Be sure to update your favorites and links to the new URL.

Thank you,

Lead Lap


RPM Lays Off Nine, Reduces Salaries

June 9, 2009

As a result of Chryler’s bankruptcy filing, Richard Petty Motorsports has laid off nine employees and reduced salaries throughout the team.

RPM is anticipating cutbacks from Dodge, and the team has already said that money has been slow coming from Dodge.

RHR Ceases Operations Of No. 1 Truck

June 8, 2009

Red Horse Racing has decided to cease operations of its No. 1 truck driven by current defending Camping World Truck Series driver Johnny Benson.

The truck ran sponsorless in all but one race this season.

The team will continue to field Toyotas for TJ Bell, as their No. 11 truck does have sponsorship.

Stewart Wins Pocono 500

June 7, 2009

Tony Stewart after starting from the rear of the field in a backup car, Tony Stewart drove to the front and then conserved fuel to win the Pocono 500.

Jimmie Johnson was battling Carl Edwards for second when he ran out of fuel and finished seventh.

Top 5: Stewart, Edwards, David Reutimann, Jeff Gordon, and Ryan Newman.

Marcos Ambrose, Jimmie Johnson, Juan Montoya, Jeff Burton, and Sam Hornish Jr rounded out the top 10.

Notables: Greg Biffle (11th), Clint Bowyer (12th), Kasey Kahne (15th), Matt Kenseth (16th), Mark Martin (19th), Kyle Busch (22nd), Kevin Harvick (24th), Dale Earnhardt Jr (27th), Kurt Busch (37th), and Denny Hamlin (38th).

Busch Wins Federated Auto Parts 300

June 7, 2009

Kyle Busch easily won the Federated Auto Parts 300 at Nashville Speedway. The victory is Busch’s fourth of the season, and his ninth victory in NASCAR’s top three series.

Top 5: Busch, Brad Keselowski, Carl Edwards, Mike Bliss, and Jason Leffler.

Stephen Leicht, Steve Wallace, Michael McDowell, Erik Darnell, and Brad Coleman rounded out the top 10.

Notables: Justin Allgaier (13th), Bobby Hamilton Jr (14th), Kenny Wallace (16th), Tony Raines (19th), Jason Keller (26th), and Scott Wimmer (33rd).

Ricky Stenhouse Jr spun on lap 126, setting off a five-car accident that involved Jason Keller and Trevor Bayne.

Bodine Wins WinStar World Casino 400

June 7, 2009

Todd Bodine stretched his fuel for 64 laps to win the Camping World Truck Series’ WinStar World Casino 400 at Texas Motor Speedway. With the victory, Bodine became the first driver to win five times at one track in the series.

Matt Crafton finished second and assumed the points lead after Ron Hornaday lost a lap due to a penatly for the right-side tire violation, and later lost oil pressure in the closing laps. Hornaday finished 19th.

Top 5: Bodine, Crafton, Colin Braun, Johnny Benson, and Rick Crawford.

Johnny Sauter, David Starr, Jason White, Tayler Malsam, and Mike SkinnerĀ rounded out the top 10.

Notables: Ricky Carmichael (11th), Aric Almirola (16th), Dennis Setzer (17th), Ron Hornaday (19th), Terry Cook (20th), and Stacey Compton (21st).

GM Reaches Deal With Penske For Saturn Brand

June 5, 2009

General Motors reached a tentative agreement to sell its Saturn brand to NASCAR Sprint Cup team owner Roger Penske, of Penske Championship Racing and Penske Automotive Group.

Penske plans to offer all Saturn dealerships new franchise agreements.

Penske also said he is in discussions with manufacturers about building the vehicles in the future. In the meantime, GM will continue producing them.